AWOL (for a little while)

reading-bible-blue

Absent Without Leave

This is a little update for all those readers I have…all my adoring fans…*cough*.

My boyfriend (soon to be fiance) proposed (wait wait, not THAT type of propose…sheesh, you women…) that he and I do a type of fast – things that take up our time that aren’t necessary when we could be spending time with the LORD. That means, no TV, no movies, no magazines, no books (other than the Bible and not counting school books). This also includes the world of blogging. I don’t write much anymore, but I read like crazy on here. There are some of you who I stay updated on daily, and I’m going to have to turn off my feeds so I don’t know that you’ve posted, so I wont be tempted to read.

How long is this going on?

Well, I am spending 3 weeks with Danny starting on December 18th. That’s 20 days from now, and we want to be pure during the time that I’m there, and so we want to just grow so close to the LORD. So the fast is 20 days.

We are going to pray at least 30 minutes a day, and read the Word at LEAST 30 min. If we are cutting all this stuff out of our days, then we can fill it with time with God.

I covet your prayers. I do. I want God to use this time as a time to let go of some of my blocks and weights. I have hit some walls lately. I want to break through them. I am discipling a young woman and I feel completely inadequate to do the job, yet possessive and prideful because I dont want to hand her off to anyone else. I want God to use me in her life in big ways. I need to be focused on God with ALL my heart.

A passage in the Bible that I am constantly flipping to (on accident) is Jeremiah 29:11-13

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.”

That is one of my favorite passages in the Bible. I must seek God with ALL my heart right now. And that means letting go of some distractions.

With all that being said, I have a few comments.

  • Again, I COVET your prayers. Please pray that God will fill my life in big ways during this time. Pray that Danny’s life is filled with God’s Spirit as well. Pray that we stick to this goal and not compromise.
  • Because this is my last venture into the blog sphere for a while, please, if you comment, and are a new commentor, please do not fret when you do not see your comment appear on my site for a while (note: I can still read them because they’re sent to my email inbox). I can’t guarentee I’ll get on wordpress just to approve new commentors, though (after your first comment is approved, then all other comments you leave are immediately visible on the site). If you’ve commented before, then know that I’ve gotten your comment in my email and I’ll read it there, but I’m going to try not to log onto the site to check.
  • With the above just being said, I will welcome any encouragement throughout these 20 days. Again, I receive all comments in my email so you can be sure I will get them. Feel free to email me if you would like to discuss anything: sharks_swim_alot@hotmail.com
  • If no one comments, that’s fine too! I’m just trying to add a few disclaimers to the commenting part of this post. Ha!

Well, thankyou all for everything. We shall see what God brings from this. I hope to have some stuff to write in the new year (I don’t know how much I’ll be able to write…if at all…after the 20 days are up since I’ll be visiting my Sweet Man in Illinois). I will have mucho ideas to write on though. Hopefully the Kristy who comes back will be a much better one! ha!

God bless you all!

♥Kristy

About Kristy

There's not much to say about me except that I'm a mom, wife, learner, and...very human. I stumble all over the place. I am bathed in the grace of God, and I love community. But also need quiet down time to decompress. Down time is hard to come by with Preschoolers. I'm also a Photographer serving Franklin County and Surrounding areas of Southern Illinois. You can see my page at www.capturemekristy.wordpress.com Thanks for stopping by! -Kristy View all posts by Kristy

One response to “AWOL (for a little while)

  • royalblood22

    Amen …. if you can .. Read John .. 1John and 2John
    while you are on your fast..
    I have been off TV for more than a year now…I must say the time i now have for the Lord is filled with only his word and my family .. The transformation is so tremendous that .. I have no appetite for tv anymore.. I now read so much i find the day is too short for most of the material int he Bible and Religious books. I wish you and your fiance a spirit filled fast.
    I came upon your blog via Kasey’s Alabasterbox.
    I will pray for your success.
    Amen

Leave a Reply

