Homosexual Unions and Proposition 8

Well, you wont be hearing mainly from ME today about this, but a fellow blogger named Laura. She wrote a thought provoking post in which I read and it made alot of sense to me. I believe she has alot of truth to what she says. The jist of it is that before we Christians start forcing the State to abide by our faith’s rules and regulations regarding marriage, we should focus on those within the Church first. We have enough problems within the church and it’s precisely the church that the world judges Christ by. The divorce rate for Christians is the same as for non-Christians. This should raise our concerns. Christians don’t even know what “sanctity in marriage” really is, by the looks of it, and so who are we to try to show the State how they should do marriage?

Anywho. If you didn’t catch the link above to her site, here it is again.  Please go to her site and read it and leave a comment if you can. If you have any thoughts, let me know.

I still have alot of thinking I need to do about this issue, and it’s all very controversial as it is (and that’s the type of stuff I try to stay away from, whereas there are much more courageous bloggers who tackle this stuff). Hope you enjoy!

♥Kristy

About Kristy

There's not much to say about me except that I'm a mom, wife, learner, and...very human. I stumble all over the place. I am bathed in the grace of God, and I love community. But also need quiet down time to decompress. Down time is hard to come by with Preschoolers. I'm also a Photographer serving Franklin County and Surrounding areas of Southern Illinois. You can see my page at www.capturemekristy.wordpress.com Thanks for stopping by! -Kristy View all posts by Kristy

11 responses to “Homosexual Unions and Proposition 8

  • Marianne

    I think that although Christians may violate the sanctity of marriage in their relationships and divorces, this does not justify sanctioning further violations by unbelievers.

    Each believer is entitled to one marriage, and one divorce, although divorce is discouraged.

    It is the remarriage that violates the sanctity of marriage, because the additional unions are not biblically supported.

    marianne
    http://heavenawaits.wordpress.com/

  • Kristy

    Thankyou for commenting, Marianne. I am curious to know where in the Bible you come up with the idea that Christians are entitled to divorce. Divorce is directly contrary to the whole idea of God because He has reconciled us to Himself and we, as His Church, are never entitled to go off and serve another God. If we claim we are God’s then we are His. God hate’s adultery and that’s exactly what it is when we go off and serve “other gods”. The book of Hosea speaks directly about this issue.

    When two married people pull apart through a divorce it is very damaging. It hurts all those who are involved, including children and even extended family. This breaks unity among believers and therefore is against God.

    God says in Malachi 2:15,16, “Has not the LORD made them one? In flesh and spirit they are his. And why one? Because he was seeking godly offspring. So guard yourself in your spirit, and do not break faith with the wife of your youth.

    “I hate divorce,” says the LORD God of Israel, “and I hate a man’s covering himself with violence as well as with his garment,” says the LORD Almighty.

    “So guard yourself in your spirit, and do not break faith.”

    Also, Mark speaks about divorce in his Gospel.
    10:4-12,4″ They said, “Moses permitted a man to write a certificate of divorce and send her away.”

    5″It was because your hearts were hard that Moses wrote you this law,” Jesus replied. 6″But at the beginning of creation God ‘made them male and female.'[a] 7’For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife,[b] 8and the two will become one flesh.'[c] So they are no longer two, but one. 9Therefore what God has joined together, let man not separate.”

    10When they were in the house again, the disciples asked Jesus about this. 11He answered, “Anyone who divorces his wife and marries another woman commits adultery against her. 12And if she divorces her husband and marries another man, she commits adultery.”

    I think God is pretty clear. Once again, thanks for reading!

    -Kristy

  • beetlebabee

    This issue indeed deserves a lot of thinking. In California, we thought and we decided and we voted. This is what we get for exercising our freedom to participate in the electoral process….rage. These are the faces of the opposition to family. Check out the photographs I’ve collected of the “peaceful” demonstrations:

    http://beetlebabee.wordpress.com/2008/11/06/pride-predjudice-prop8-rage/

  • Laura

    Kristy,

    I appreciated your thoughts on my thoughts. 🙂

    I don’t believe we are entitled to anything, including marriage or divorce. I don’t believed we are allowed even “one” divorce. I do believe God cares deeply about our hearts being drawn to Him. I believe He longs to see families restored, and hearts changed to reflect His heart and reveal His glory. I will continue to ask Him to search my heart and see where wickedness might lie so He can change my heart until it reflects His. I only want to bring Him glory. I just don’t see how involving myself so passionately in the affairs of the world, or government, does this.

  • Trinity Mommy

    Interesting and thought provoking! I have given you an award on my blog..

  • Trinity Mommy

    http://lovingcjm.wordpress.com
    Sorry for some reason my comment does not have the link to my blog 🙂

  • katemcdonald

    I have made the same argument, but stayed away from the controversy of that on my blog b/c my gay uncle reads it and I don’t want anyone to say something hateful and him read it…you know? But thanks for posting the link,

  • katemcdonald

    one other thing, God does hate divorce, and Jesus makes one exception for it… adultery. I assume He hates that even more.

    I am curious if you guys think in a divorce (Biblical one, based on an affair) if the person who was violated (and not the offender) is sinning by remarrying?

  • Kristy

    I really don’t know. I would think that a person wouldn’t be committing adultery because I see that their prior divorce due to adulter is freeing them of that committment.

    Haven’t looked into that though.

  • Marianne

    Jesus never recommended divorce. He acknowledged that Moses allowed it. But then he qualified himself, that only for reasons of fornication can a divorce happen. Otherwise, the marriage has to stay. Any one who divorces and remarries commits adultery.

  • katemcdonald

    Marianne, so you are saying even the person who was divorced after an affair (and they were not the unfaithful one) would never be permitted to remarry?

Leave a Reply

